Don't take our word for it

Hear what our customers have to say
4.7
Rated 4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 120 reviews)
Excellent84%
Very good10%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Customer Reviews

Fills the Gap between Ground Tent and Teardrop Trailer

Rated 5 out of 5
August 8, 2022

I’ve owned my Roofnest Sparrow for two summers, for a total use of about sixty nights. I mostly camp in the Upper Midwest, Great Plains, and Rocky Mountains. Great product overall.
Materials: They all seem to be durable. I want this tent to last for years. For that to happen, the initial materials need to be high quality. Also, they need to be repairable. I believe they are both. The ABS plastic shell does not seem to wear at all. The struts that allow it to open are reliable. The canvas continues to be weatherproof. I would imagine that with these simple materials and construction, a body shop could fix any problems that might occur well down the road. The only downside with the materials is that the tent off-gased incredibly. I kept it opened in my garage for a few months, which was necessary to make the smell go away.
Customer Service: I called when making the initial purchase and got a generous conversation from the staff. Also had same good experience when calling about mounting an awning.
Rooftop Tents Generally Speaking: I think they are revolutionary. Honestly, they really help make trips happen easily that otherwise would be a slog. A lot of people, I think, want something more comfortable and reliable than tent camping, but are not interested in towing a trailer. For those of us in that situation, a rooftop tent is perfect.
I’ve tent camped maybe close to 500 times in my life, often backpacking or bicycle touring. I’ve learned to like simple setups, so I’ve been reluctant as a 40-something dad to get into a pop-up, teardrop, or other trailer. But, tent camping has its limitations that finally led me to seeking something different. Mostly, I wanted a setup that would be reliable in all three-season weather. Too often, campgrounds have poorly drained sites. When I’m on a road trip, I want to know that the afternoon’s rain isn’t going to mean setting up in a puddle. As a dad, this matters.
So I started looking at trailers, teardrops especially. But they seemed to start at about $5000, or more with pandemic inflation now. Functionally, they offer nothing significant to me not offered by the rooftop tent. Both are a guaranteed dry place to sleep for two people. Some teardrops have the kitchen hatchback, but I’m happy with carrying two small plastic totes to from my Subaru to the picnic table.
The other comparison is with with a pop-up. Sometimes used ones are priced competitively with a rooftop tent. While larger ones to sleep more people, they still mostly just offer a dry place to sleep, especially if you’re fine cooking at the picnic table.
If you’re looking to upgrade from tent camping, I would seriously look at rooftop tents. Think of them as cheap campers, not as expensive tents. They really do offer functionality much more similar to pop-ups and teardrops than to ground tents.

Happy Roofnester

One of the best Festival Tents ever

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2, 2022

Just returned from a ten-day, 2000 mile road trip for a music camp and festival in Colorado. Our Roofnest Adventure XL exceeded our expectations. It kept us high and dry, something most of our fellow campers could not say.

Ron Goldey

Condor Overland Learning curve

Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2022

The Condor Overland definitely needs two person install. Not that easy of a lift, so you will likely be keeping the tent on the vehicle for long periods. I have Elevate Truck Bed Rack. The Mounting screws were too short and I had to go to hardware stroe to get long enough screws to mount. Other than that, it was pretty easy install. Once on rack easy to move around. There is a learning curve with setting up the tent. I could not get the ladder right until after a multple tries, so that it did not have the bounce when getting in the tent. When ladder the floor will stay in place. I think I had too steep of an angle. Also warning, the metal rings for holding back sky roof in hot sun (live in Colorado) can damage the rain fly window, which is just plastic. This happened on my first trip. Should be warning about that. Also when closing, it is not as simple as the videos. You will need to tuck in the sides, lift both sides to tuck. Maybe this improves over time, but that has been my experience. First trip was a success, tent is warm, no leaks in a thunder storm. Very stasified, but expect a learning curve. Also, I have seen people with an issue of awning rods and being hard to get in on the side near a truck cab, you can moves these easily and works great. Have also had some issues with the velcro to hold mattress in place and ladder protective flap. This might be part of learing curve. Just first use, but I am sure I will be happier over time.

Chris R.

Good but hard to close

Rated 4 out of 5
July 1, 2022

Overall I really like my Sparrow, however buyers should be aware it is very difficult to close for just one person. There’s no information on Roofnest’s site that refers to closing the tent.

Sheridan

Great Tent so far ... but

Rated 4 out of 5
July 1, 2022

My tent arrived sooner than expected, and though the box had damage, my Condor Overland didn’t have even one scratch. I have only two concerns. First given the cost of this tent, the attachment brackets are tacky at best. I have ordered Wheel Every Weekend brackets to correct this. Second, the fold-out section does not lay flat. I’m told by other owners on the ROOFNEST Flock Facebook page that will correct with use over time. All that said, can’t wait to hit the mountains.

Thom @CompoundOverland

I love this Awning!!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 29, 2022

I have a Roofnest Condor XL that open on the passenger side and my 270 awning is on the right. I have complete coverage and its really well made. We got caught in a real soaking rain and wind. The awning didnt leak or hardly buck in the wind. It has lights all around and it has support poles that I have yet to even need, maybe for a snow load or big big wind. Takes 30 seconds to deploy and 1 min to put away nicely. And heck It matches the tent so….thats a big +

Jason P

First RTT - Super happy with it!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 20, 2022

We’ve taken this out 6 times since March and love how warm it keeps on cold nights and how ventilated it is opened up in the desert heat. It also held up well through a rough windstorm on the central coast. If I could do it all over, I may have opted for the Sparrow Eye only because of the 30lb weight difference. I know the Falcon 2 has a lot of upgrades, but it pushes the 160lb limit on my Thule crossbars and I’m not strong enough to help my husband lift it on and off the roof. I also wish there was a cover available for this model to keep it clean on long, buggy drives!

Rebecca Cuozzo-Gonzalez

Great tent

Rated 5 out of 5
May 31, 2022

Amount needed for the investment worried me a bit, but very happy with the purchase. I have a gladiator with the condor XL and a Maximus 3 bed rack. There is some overhang, so I got some 80/20 15 series aluminum to raise it up for cab clearance. Worked like a charm.

Brian

best out there

Rated 5 out of 5
May 6, 2022

I’ve had and seen other brand tents out there and not very many can come close to compare.
Beside being a little spent I easily spent this amount on crappy tents and Replacemt parts for other tents I’ve had. Bar none ease of use set up and design awesome.

Brandon

Good Awning, Decent Quality, Fast Delivery

Rated 4 out of 5
April 18, 2022

I purchased the Little Wing to go in the back of my third gen Tacoma with a 6.2 ft long bed. This was one of the only awnings on the market that would fit a 6 ft bed.
PRO:
-Easy to open
-Seems supported ok without poles
-Lights built in
CONS:
-Cheap outside cover and zipper. We will see if the zipper doesn’t break. Would have expected a waterproof cover with a bigger YKK zipper for the price. (Overall built well, not sure why they skimped on this part)
-Lights are more for ambiance than actually using for light

Koda

Join the Flock

Outdoor Freak? Join the Club.

Be the first to know about our newest tents & accessories, plus top camping tips, DIY tricks, and more!