Black Friday

Don't take our word for it

Hear what our customers have to say
4.7
Rated 4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 127 reviews)
Excellent85%
Very good9%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Customer Reviews

Home Away From Home

Rated 5 out of 5
November 21, 2022

I bought my Condor in the late summer so i could hit the road by late Aug for a month of roadtripping. Was so comfy and safe feeling to live in full time on the road that i ended up traveling the country for 2 extra months living in it a total of 3 months. Made the road trip setup and take down so easy and fast even pulling into spots late and in the dark! It was a solo trip but there was PLENTY of space for company to join in the tent if needed/wanted. Def recommended it multiple times on the road when people inquired about it and am excited for all the camping i plan to do in it come next year ❤️

Shana

Life changing tent.

Rated 5 out of 5
November 14, 2022

In Spring of 2021 I began planning a six week road trip, determined to make use of pandemic space in our lives. My hubby was less than willing to be camping for that length of time and was objecting vehemently to the project. I hadn’t intended to purchase a roof tent although I was aware they existed but I was browsing free-camping site and saw photos of rooftops and had to investigate because it occurred to me that hubby might be more invested in my adventure if he had a new toy. I slyly bought the Sparrow after doing some research for what should best fit us. As predicted, he couldn’t wait to get, unpack and investigate it. We hoisted it stop our “ole girl” – (17 y/o Toyota Sienna XL) and in May 2021 set off for our first extended, self-sustaining 6000 miles road trip around the west. What a blast.
That was a year ago and I have a bonafide road tripper on my hands. The Sparrow has made all the difference in how we camp now. Here’s how:
1. We sleep so well. The foam mattress is thick and comfortable and gives an unbelievable-until-you-try -it good nights rest.
2. Sleeping with fresh air and views. The “doors” and “windows can all be sealed (but not advisable since the seal is tight) from rain but the experience of sleeping with wild air coming in is matchless. All the openings have zippered screens as well as a heavy duty zippered flap which turn into awnings with provided poles or can be rolled up. Bring your own views.
3. You can leave your sleeping equipment stowed in the Sparrow while traveling. The hard shell provided enough depth for us to leave 2 full sized sleeping bags, an extra blanket and 2 pillows plus PJs which made a simple set -up ultra simple.
4. Easy to set-up, unlatch and push up. Leave the rest to the hydraulic arms.
5. Takedown is simple too and takes a few more steps but after doing for 3 times it took less than 10 mins (1person) to attain full locked status. Also if you’re vertically challenged as we are, bring a sturdy fold-up stool to help you get the locks done. Especially if tent is on higher vehicle.
5. Ready. Set. Pick up and go. We leave our Sparrow, now well stickered, on the ole girl and are ready to go at a moments notice.
Since getting the Nest and doing that epic trip, we’ve been on many shorter trips. A lot of our free time is spent planning for the next road trip. We are 100% HOOKED. I seriously believe if we hadn’t had such a wonderful experience with the Sparrow, we wouldn’t be here. LOVE MY ROOFNEST.

Saudia

Super convenient, super comfortable

Rated 5 out of 5
November 14, 2022

We’ve had our Sparrow Eye for a couple of years and slept in it a couple of hundred nights. It’s built well – we’ve had no problems. And I sleep better in the Roofnest than I do at home.
When I was deciding on which model to get, I got in touch with the Roofnest crew (who are incredibly responsive!) and told them I was looking for convenience. (Let’s face it folks, that’s one of the big selling points for a RTT.) They directed to toward the Sparrow Eye, and I’m glad they did. There’s room to leave all bedding (double sleeping bag, pillows, orange down blanket from Roofnest, etc.) inside when it’s closed, which makes set up/close down so easy and quick.
I’m sure all the Roofnest models and well built and comfortable. But for max convenience, the Sparrow Eye is the way to go. I can’t wait to get back out in the woods!

Bill and Cathy

Go big or fo home

Rated 5 out of 5
November 11, 2022

I bought it for three people. Fits us nicely. I’ve used it twice so far. Both times, it has weathered through chilly nights to warm days along with heavy rain days and nights. On cooler nights, with us inside breathing and our body heat, the inside condensated some. Not dripping wet but definitely visible moisture droplets on the walls. Everything else about is nice.
One of my window awning pole broke unexpectedly. Not sure why. During the second camping trip, I heard a load snap and looked around and found the window dangling with the pole. But, I couldn’t have chosen a better tent though. I did however think there could be some improvements. Should have a thicker matress option for those that need more cushion (me). Should have some kind safety bar at the egress door that can be folded away when folding up the tent. There’s nothing to grab when trying to get out of the tent. Maybe a taller cover so extra blankets amd pillows can be stored away when folded down. A window on the top cover would be nice.

Bee

Awesome Customer Service

Rated 5 out of 5
October 3, 2022

I highly recommend Roofnest…
My Falcon 2 XL was damaged when it originally arrived. This occurred during the shipping process and was no fault of Roofnests. While I was incredibly disappointed, I have to admit, I ended up having one of the best customer service experiences of my life. They were responsive, quick to ship out a replacement tent, shipped me straps to assist with sending the damaged tent back, and were friendly as could be. I’m from the south and that goes a long way with me.
They also made things right with me in regards to the delay and my own time spent dealing with it.
The tent itself is great! Lots of room, easy to install, quality materials, and literally sets up in 30 seconds. I did a lot of research before making my decision. I’d happily make the same decision again.
Go with Roofnest, in the end you won’t be disappointed.

Kary Williams

A lot of compliments!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 31, 2022

Received our Condor XL and could not be happier. Fast shipment, great customer service, and friendly helpful delivery workers. Opened it up at our apartment to check the inside and got so much compliments from our neighbors! Took it up Yosemite National and boy, people were turning necks! Strangers coming up to us asking where we bought it and specs. Using it first time this weekend at camp! So exciting!

Yer

Top Notch Tent - Accessories, not so much

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2022

Overall this is a superb tent. I went from an iKamper to the Flacon Pro as I preferred the sleek look and aluminum exterior. It’s quick to deploy and has held up in some pretty wild winds. Over the past 9 months, I’ve spent about 30 nights in the tent.
The one complaint is the hardware provided by Roofnest. After having the tent for one rainy season in the PNW, all mounting hardware on the tent and the Roofnest Wing are showing signs of rust. Will be soon replacing with stainless. Also, the rod used to stabilize the U-bar seems not well thought out. The design of the ends don’t match either connecting point, too small for the U-bar and too big for the other end.
With that, the tent is still 5 stars in my book. Looking forward to many more adventures with the Flacon Pro.
Join the flock!

Jordan Taylor

Fills the Gap between Ground Tent and Teardrop Trailer

Rated 5 out of 5
August 8, 2022

I’ve owned my Roofnest Sparrow for two summers, for a total use of about sixty nights. I mostly camp in the Upper Midwest, Great Plains, and Rocky Mountains. Great product overall.
Materials: They all seem to be durable. I want this tent to last for years. For that to happen, the initial materials need to be high quality. Also, they need to be repairable. I believe they are both. The ABS plastic shell does not seem to wear at all. The struts that allow it to open are reliable. The canvas continues to be weatherproof. I would imagine that with these simple materials and construction, a body shop could fix any problems that might occur well down the road. The only downside with the materials is that the tent off-gased incredibly. I kept it opened in my garage for a few months, which was necessary to make the smell go away.
Customer Service: I called when making the initial purchase and got a generous conversation from the staff. Also had same good experience when calling about mounting an awning.
Rooftop Tents Generally Speaking: I think they are revolutionary. Honestly, they really help make trips happen easily that otherwise would be a slog. A lot of people, I think, want something more comfortable and reliable than tent camping, but are not interested in towing a trailer. For those of us in that situation, a rooftop tent is perfect.
I’ve tent camped maybe close to 500 times in my life, often backpacking or bicycle touring. I’ve learned to like simple setups, so I’ve been reluctant as a 40-something dad to get into a pop-up, teardrop, or other trailer. But, tent camping has its limitations that finally led me to seeking something different. Mostly, I wanted a setup that would be reliable in all three-season weather. Too often, campgrounds have poorly drained sites. When I’m on a road trip, I want to know that the afternoon’s rain isn’t going to mean setting up in a puddle. As a dad, this matters.
So I started looking at trailers, teardrops especially. But they seemed to start at about $5000, or more with pandemic inflation now. Functionally, they offer nothing significant to me not offered by the rooftop tent. Both are a guaranteed dry place to sleep for two people. Some teardrops have the kitchen hatchback, but I’m happy with carrying two small plastic totes to from my Subaru to the picnic table.
The other comparison is with with a pop-up. Sometimes used ones are priced competitively with a rooftop tent. While larger ones to sleep more people, they still mostly just offer a dry place to sleep, especially if you’re fine cooking at the picnic table.
If you’re looking to upgrade from tent camping, I would seriously look at rooftop tents. Think of them as cheap campers, not as expensive tents. They really do offer functionality much more similar to pop-ups and teardrops than to ground tents.

Happy Roofnester

One of the best Festival Tents ever

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2, 2022

Just returned from a ten-day, 2000 mile road trip for a music camp and festival in Colorado. Our Roofnest Adventure XL exceeded our expectations. It kept us high and dry, something most of our fellow campers could not say.

Ron Goldey

Condor Overland Learning curve

Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2022

The Condor Overland definitely needs two person install. Not that easy of a lift, so you will likely be keeping the tent on the vehicle for long periods. I have Elevate Truck Bed Rack. The Mounting screws were too short and I had to go to hardware stroe to get long enough screws to mount. Other than that, it was pretty easy install. Once on rack easy to move around. There is a learning curve with setting up the tent. I could not get the ladder right until after a multple tries, so that it did not have the bounce when getting in the tent. When ladder the floor will stay in place. I think I had too steep of an angle. Also warning, the metal rings for holding back sky roof in hot sun (live in Colorado) can damage the rain fly window, which is just plastic. This happened on my first trip. Should be warning about that. Also when closing, it is not as simple as the videos. You will need to tuck in the sides, lift both sides to tuck. Maybe this improves over time, but that has been my experience. First trip was a success, tent is warm, no leaks in a thunder storm. Very stasified, but expect a learning curve. Also, I have seen people with an issue of awning rods and being hard to get in on the side near a truck cab, you can moves these easily and works great. Have also had some issues with the velcro to hold mattress in place and ladder protective flap. This might be part of learing curve. Just first use, but I am sure I will be happier over time.

Chris R.

Join the Flock

Outdoor Freak? Join the Club.

Be the first to know about our newest tents & accessories, plus top camping tips, DIY tricks, and more!